I was not prepared to fall in love with the Bridgerton family, but the first time I saw Julianne Moore on the screen, I knew that I had. How I Learned to Love the Bridgerton Family

The Great: The Storyline


If you’re looking for a book with twists and turns, surprises around every corner, and an intricate story line that will keep you guessing, read Great Expectations. This classic novel has it all. One of my favorite aspects of Dickens’ writing is how unpredictable his books are, yet they flow like a story meant to be read aloud. You will find yourself quickly falling in love with certain characters and hating others as if they were real people right in front of you—not just figments of your imagination.

How I Learned to Love the Bridgerton Family

The Good: The Characters


One of my favorite things about Julia Quinn’s books is her characters. Although all of her stories are lighter romances, she can make you fall in love with a dozen different characters. In The Viscount Who Loved Me, it was mostly just Sebastian and Michael that I fell in love with. There were so many other minor characters whose stories could have been told! Overall, I loved these two brothers and their relationship together.

The Bad: Production Value


This is a hard one. I’m not saying that they were bad, but they certainly weren’t very good. The movie quality was mediocre and would be expected from a movie that wasn’t released in theaters (unless it was on Cinemax). But when you are making a television series out of a bestselling book series, something more than an independent film feel is expected.

How I Learned to Love the Bridgerton Family
How I Learned to Love the Bridgerton Family

Overall Rating – This Movie Is a Must Watch


The Bridgertons are back and better than ever! This follow-up movie is funnier than your average rom-com. The characters were portrayed brilliantly, and it’s obvious that everyone involved in production loved their work! My Rating: 8/10 Stars (It was just a bit slow in parts.)

See also  Finalist Stevan Ditter Heats Up on Too Hot to Handle

Why Bridgerton is the Best American Streaming Show Right Now

The Bridgerton series on Netflix has been called the best American streaming show right now by Vulture and the next big thing in streaming by Elle Magazine, as well as earning Best Drama Series awards from Glamour and BuzzFeed. So why should you care? Here are 5 reasons Bridgerton should be your next binge-watch obsession.

Why Bridgerton is Different

This show is written by Chris Van Dusen, and produced by Shonda Rhimes. Chris Van Dusen wrote a brief explanation as to why she believes her writing style makes her perfect for a period drama. She has used certain events that happened at one point in time, and through formal research created a script with memorable characters that doesn’t fail to make us forget what it was like during those times when these things actually occurred.

Who Should Watch

If you’re into period dramas, then Bridgerton is absolutely worth your time. If you’re a fan of Shonda Rhimes (and if you’re reading that sentence, then yes, we’ll assume that you are), then give it a shot! Chris Van Dusen did an amazing job bringing Julia Quinn’s vision to life and there are some seriously familiar faces in here as well (Jack Falahee, anyone?). So go ahead and take a break from all those nature documentaries about birds and dive into some good old-fashioned English fun. Just be sure to keep those tissues close by—you might need them.

Who Shouldn’t Watch

Of course, not everyone will enjoy a show with time-period detail, romance and a lot of family drama. If you’re someone who doesn’t like Shonda Rhimes’s shows or aren’t into soap operas, then Bridgerton probably isn’t for you. Although Julia Quinn herself says Shonda Rhimes brings her unique brand of magic to my beloved Bridgetons in a way that both honors my books and will delight her millions of fans. So if it’s good enough for Julia Quinn, then it should be good enough for you!

How I Learned to Love the Bridgerton Family
How I Learned to Love the Bridgerton Family

Where it fits in your life

The sexy, British period drama is perfect for fall. While many people are still trying to catch up on shows from last year or summer, there’s a lot of things to look forward to in terms of entertainment. And Bridgerton just may be one of them. The show (based on Julia Quinn’s collection of novels) premiered on Netflix at midnight and has already proved that it’s going to be one of the most watched series. Especially for those who love Downton Abbey but can’t wait for its finale, since you probably will be binging on an entirely new series by then. So if you’re looking for something quick and easy and not too demanding, why not tune into Bridgerton? You won’t regret it!

See also  Is Charlotte Hale the Real Villain of Westworld?

What makes it different from other shows?

What makes Bridgerton different from other shows? Like any other period drama series, it boasts a perfect plot and amazing character development, especially since it started off as a simple story. Unlike many other shows though, it doesn’t take itself too seriously. Rather than being clouded by unnecessary conflict or being dependent on ongoing plot twists, each season is built around a main theme that affects both main and supporting characters in meaningful ways. As much as I love my historical romances, I can’t deny that I’m getting fed up with recycled storylines and overused tropes that have been plaguing TV since its inception. Luckily, I don’t see Bridgerton going down that path anytime soon.

How does it stack up against Downton Abbey?

Honestly, Bridgerton has just as many twists and turns as Downton does. It may not have as many hardcore fans due to it being an older show, but anyone who enjoys Downton Abbey should definitely give it a shot! If you’re looking for another binge-worthy show that will have you on your toes at all times, keep watching! There’s still so much more drama to come. But I don’t want to spoil anything for you. All in all, if you haven’t given it a chance yet, why not try something new? There are plenty of shows out there for everyone—you just need to find one that suits your fancy.

How I Learned to Love the Bridgerton Family
How I Learned to Love the Bridgerton Family

Why is Bridgerton so popular?

Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series has been a favorite for many years, and with good reason. These smart and funny romances are always a pleasure to read. Even better: The Netflix adaptation of Julia Quinn’s first book, What Happens in London, has everyone talking about how good it is. Fans of Pride and Prejudice will especially love it because of its equally spot-on period drama vibe. If you’ve never read any Julia Quinn books or seen anything related to Bridgerton, here are four reasons why you should start now.

See also  Matt Donovan Elena's Brother and Caroline's Ex

Is Bridgerton a true story?

Yes, in a way. The books are actually romances, but everything that happens onscreen in Bridgerton happened to other people living in England at around 1811-1816. Chris Van Dusen, who adapted Quinn’s novels for television, researched historical accounts of dukes and duchesses from that time period to make sure that nothing he invented contradicted what we know about society during those years. There are plenty of differences between reality and fiction—the show features a girl named Eloise Wellesley falling for a duke named Frederick Bridgerton (Freddie), for example—but every piece of dialogue spoken by every character also happened before. It’s just that most of these conversations were never recorded for posterity until Julia Quinn started writing novels about them!

Do men like Bridgerton?

While Netflix often sees itself as an internet-only network, its success on both sides of that divide is part of what makes it so successful. While many people have balked at Netflix’s decision to produce a period drama—calling it pompous and pretentious—the show has nonetheless grown a dedicated following, with millions of viewers watching each week. There are plenty of reasons why people love Bridgerton, but one major factor has to be because they feel they’re getting their money’s worth out of every episode. It also helps that Bridgerton was shot on location in Britain and features some very expensive sets—all without having to rely on tons of special effects or props.

Is Bridgerton big in America?

No, but it’s going to be. Based on a hugely popular collection of romance novels set in Regency England, Bridgerton centers around a fictional aristocratic family that, thanks to an unlikely breach of manners involving an improperly placed window seat and a bowler hat, becomes inextricably linked with Hollywood royalty. The result is Netflix’s best series since House of Cards—and maybe even its next big show. – Van Dusen

Where is Bridgerton filmed?

The family estate, known as Rakebridge Hall, is filmed in Milford Haven in Pembrokeshire. It was chosen because of its resemblance to an English country estate as described in Quinn’s novels. Most filming takes place there with some additional scenes shot on location throughout Cardiff and London. Filming for season 2 will commence in May 2018, taking place over three weeks.

1 2 3 4 5

By Showz Update Team

We’re working to turn our passion for Movie Web Show And Game Updates into a booming Showz Update . We hope you enjoy our Movie Web Show And Game Updates as much as we enjoy offering them to you